Franklin Public Library - Resources -> Databases

This Week at
Franklin Public Library

Title:Sensory-Friendly Storytime—Drop-in
Date: 4/14/2025
Description:Sensory-Friendly Storytime (Ages 5 & under with adult): An inclusive storytime for children of all abilities. DROP-IN!

Title:Sparkle & Screen—Drop-in
Date: 4/14/2025
Description:Sparkle & Screen (Grades K5-5): Make diamond art and watch a movie! DROP-IN!

Title:Tales for Twos—Drop-in
Date: 4/15/2025
Description:Tales for Twos (Age 2 with adult): Stories, songs, and rhymes designed for this age group. DROP-IN!

View Entire Week’s Events

Phone Numbers
Phone: 414.425.8214
FAX:
24 Hour Renewal Line: 414.277.0183

Hours
Monday 9am-8:00pm
Tuesday 9am-8:00pm
Wednesday 9am-8:00pm
Thursday 9am-8:00pm
Friday 9am-5pm
Saturday 9am-4pm
Sunday - 1pm-4pm

Curbside pick-up is available on demand for items that are on hold and ready to pick up.

Call (414) 425-8214 and press Option 3 when you arrive at the library and park in our reserved curbside pickup spot.

Facebook
Pinterest
- FPL Teens Pinterest Page
- FPL Pinterest Page
Twitter
- Visit our Twitter Page
YouTube
- FPL YouTube Channel
Mobile Printing
- Online Printing
- 3D Printer Request Form
Library Links

Resources » Databases

Franklin Public Library offers free access to resources that not available with a simple search of the web. These subscription databases let you access the hidden web, resources normally unavailable to the general public. Simply use your Franklin Public Library card number to access the information.

Access World News (NewsBank)
An online collection of news sources from around the world.

Available remotely 24/7 on any device. (Requires library card and PIN to log in)
Ancestry Library Edition
A source for family history. Census, military records, immigration records, etc.
(In Library Use Only)
Britannica Library
A comprehensive learning and reference center for all age levels, Britannica Library (from Encyclopædia Britannica), provides access to primary sources, e-books, magazine articles, a built-in Merriam-Webster dictionary, videos, images and traditional encyclopedia articles all in one product! Provided as part of Wisconsin's BadgerLink
Business Source Premier (Provided by BadgerLink)
Provides full text of more than 2,300 journals. Articles back to 1886 with searchable citations from 1998.
BadgerLink
A rich variety of online resources for Wisconsin residents.
Chicago Sun-Times (NewsBank)
Chicago Sun-Times online collection with issues from 1986-Current

Available remotely 24/7 on any device. (Requires library card and PIN to log in)
Chilton Library
OEM repair, maintenance, and service information on most cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Provides step-by-step procedures, diagnostic and troubleshooting help, and a video library. This replaces Auto Repair Source.
Comics Plus
With Comics Plus®, readers have unlimited, simultaneous access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels and manga from a variety of library-friendly publishers. Every title is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week - on computers, tablets and phones.

You will need your library barcode and PIN to access this database.
Consumer Health Complete (Provided by BadgerLink)
Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Consumer Reports
Smart and savvy buying tips are just a few clicks away!

Remote access available to Franklin Residents. To login use your library card barcode number as the "Patron ID."
Driving-tests.org
Wisconsin-specific drivers tests: 10 car; 6 motorcycle; 2 CDL (Commercial Driver's License), all with online manuals. Plus an extensive FAQ section with detailed answers to more than 100 DMV-related questions.
EBSCOhost (Provided by BadgerLink)
Your gateway to a plethora of magazine articles, many full-text, and many from peer-reviewed journals
Explora
Search interface for EBSCO's general information resources.
Gale Courses
Gale Courses offers hundreds of courses focused on professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment. Six-week long courses are taught entirely online by instructors, and new sessions begin every month.
Heritage Quest Online (Provided by BadgerLink)
Your link to the past in just a few keystrokes.
History Reference Center (Provided by BadgerLink)
Offers full text from reference books, full text for many leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures. In addition, historical photos, maps, and hours of historical video are available.
Literary Reference Center (Provided by BadgerLInk)
Assists high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.
Milwaukee Business Journal
The Milwaukee Business Journal is where you'll find the latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, this week's top business stories from the Milwaukee area, and other popular features.

You will need your library barcode and PIN to access this database.
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Collection (Newsbank)
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Collection

Explore Milwaukee history through local news, events, and people with this collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. (Requires library card and PIN to log in)
Milwaukee News Sources (NewsBank)
Online collection of Milwaukee News Sources

Available remotely 24/7 on any device. (Requires library card and PIN to log in)
Newspapers.com Library Edition World Collection
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries
Novelist (Provided by BadgerLink)
Provides access to full text reviews, annotations, publication information, subject headings and more for works of fiction. In addition, this database can recommend similar titles and authors, provide guides for book discussions and more.
Novelist K-8 (Provided by BadgerLink)
Fiction database designed for elementary and middle school students. Provides read-a-likes, reading lists, and allows searching for books by subject.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA)
Building your business, want a new job? Reference Solutions has a tremendous collection of data records that can be used as a people or business address/telephone directory, job hunting tool, company or industry analysis source, mailing list creator, or to custom design marketing datasets within the Consumer/Lifestyle module.

Please note: If unable to access Reference Solutions remotely using Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge, please try changing your preferences to "Allow All Cookies" or use a different Internet browser. The most recent versions of Chrome and Edge have been known to cause access issues.
Regional Business News (Provided by Badgerlink)
Full text coverage for regional business publications.
Science Reference Center (Provided by BadgerLink)
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to full text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
TeachingBooks.net
A diverse and constantly growing online collection of multimedia K-12 book and author resources.
Transparent Language Online
Combining extensive courses and supplemental resources for over 100 languages, including English, Transparent Language Online is a complete language-learning system.
TumbleBooks (Made possible by a literacy grant to the Franklin Public Library Foundation)
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. TumbleBooks Library also includes National Geographic videos and games!
Udemy
Udemy Business offers 10,000+ online video courses. Each course consists of on-demand video with support articles. Prior to starting, there is a list of topics covered and in most cases, you are able to preview the course before enrolling. Learners will receive a certificate of completion when the video course is finished.

NOTE: You will need a Google or Microsoft account to sign in to Udemy. If you don’t already have one, Google and Microsoft accounts are free.
U.S. Newsstream
Current and archival to 1980s U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune as well as over 80 Gannett titles.
Wisconsin State Journal (NewsBank)
Wisconsin State Journal Online Collection with issues 1989-Current

Available remotely 24/7 on any device. (Requires library card and PIN to log in)
Wisconsin Newspapers Archive
Full-text daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 90 days ago, plus newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s